Slam Dunk Festival 2015 Preview

Here is another piece that I originally wrote for AltDialogue my Slam Dunk Festival Preview

For me, Slam Dunk is probably my favourite day of the year. It’s a festival that covers the music that I like, in a city I love, with good friends and usually (fingers crossed) good weather. I’ve been going to this festival since Fall Out Boy headlined the first one in 2006. The festival started out in Millennium Square in Leeds (coming off the back of Slam Dunk club nights – a big favourite of mine) before moving to Leeds University due to it getting bigger; and then also being in more than one city throughout the weekend.

So who are we getting excited to see at Slam Dunk Festival this year?

  • PVRIS – this is a band that I’m really keen to see, as their debut record White Noise is an absolute gem of a record. Obvious comparisons get made with Paramore (they’ve got a female singer so always the case) but this band has a sound of their own. ‘My House’ is a particular track to listen out for

  • Knuckle Puck – this band genuinely excites me almost as much as my favourite band ever (The Wonder Years as you asked) do. They have got better with every song and record they have put out, and are working on a full length record. There’s just something about them that makes me get a huge buzz – I’ll definitely be in early to see these guys. Check out ‘Oak Street’ and ‘Fences’

  • Beartooth – I missed the chance to see these guys last time they toured and by all accounts missed a treat. Their album Disgusting got rave reviews and ‘Beaten In Lips’ was one of the killer tracks of last year.

  • A Loss For Words – thought of as one of the hardest working most likeable bands on the scene, these are the band’s last UK shows and as such I am keen to have one last singalong to a band that has provided great songs and memories. Look out for ‘Conquest Of Mistakes’ (hopefully with a guest appearance from Soupy)

  • Fireworks – one of my favourite bands of this scene and probably one of the most underrated, I’ve been in love with Fireworks since I saw them support set your goals years ago. It’s a rare appearance from these guys and I’m excited (although i’ll no doubt go to their Manchester warm up show too). Look out for ‘Detroit’ and ‘When We Stand On Each Other We Block Out The Sun’

  • Finch – because these boys remind me of first getting into emo and everything else that goes along with it. I got to see them at The Cockpit when they reformed and it was amazing, so hopefully on the back of their latest album it’ll be a mix of new and old classics. Look out for ‘What It Is To Burn’

  • While She Sleeps – not sure I’ll see them, depends on clashes, but their latest album Brainwashed was a cracker and as such given the chance I’ll be trying to get a fix of dirty northern metal during the evening. Look out for: ‘The North Stands For Nothing’
  • h2o – New York hardcore legends h2o are a band I’ve liked for a long while, I first caught them at the Brudenell a few years back and it was an electric show, a proper punk show and great fun, they’re on the list given the chance! Look out for: ‘Whatever Happened’

  • Taking Back Sunday – I’m sure this is a band that needs no introduction, but TBS are emo legends that have been around for more than a decade and always put on a show. One of my favourite bands of all time and a huge influence on my tastes today, this band are a definite must see. Look out for: ‘Cute Without The ‘E’’ and ‘You’re So Last Summer’

  • The Wonder Years – as I’ve stated in the past this band is my favourite band ever, I’ve seen them a massive number of times and will continue to do so, they’re without a doubt my pick as headliners. If you’ve never heard of them or never seen them, I can’t implore you enough to see them! Catchy songs, great lyrics, huge choruses, get involved! Look out for: ‘Passing Through A Screen Door’; ‘The Devil In My Bloodstream’; ‘Came Out Swinging’ (basically look out for the whole set)


Slam Dunk is a huge day out, and if you’ve never been it’s one of the best days in the calendar if you’re into the alternative music scene. There’s loads more bands I could recommend but I’d be here all day!

Thanks for getting this far! Please feel free to give a comment and reblog/share if you like what you have read! ! Feel free to buy me stuff or find me on twitter; linkedin; tumblr, GiffGaff or last.fm!

Leave a comment